British Historic Racing

British Historic Racing Round 4 Lydden Hill

Rob Butler 97 Scott Harris 253

Rob Butler 97 Scott Harris 253

On Saturday we had damp conditions for the practice sessions but the sun came out as racing started and gave dry racing for the day. Sunday was wet for the first half of the meeting and dry for the second part. All events were of four races with some excellent displays from our European guests, two from Italy and one each from France and Belgium.

The over 500cc solo championship for machines 1963 to 1972 was a battle throughout between the top three in the table,. No239 Mike Bevan (Norton Seeley), No 253 Scott Harris (Norton Kirby) and No 213 Gary Porter (BSA Rocket 3). With four finishes to three Scott closed the point gap between himself and Mike by 10 points, leaving a gap of 46 points.

The pre 1963 over 500cc championship was a battle between the top two in the championship table,  No 229 Bobby Bevan (Triumph T110) and No 138 Mike Kemp (Norton Atlas) Mike closed the points gap by 7points but still remains 74 points in arrears with 120 points possible out of 8 races.

Pre 1963 250cc solo championship was dominated by current leader No 47 Mervyn Stratford (Rudge) to further increasing his lead over No129 Charles Davis (Ducati Monza)

The 1963 to 1972 250cc solo class saw some class riding from our Belgium guest rider No 308 Rik Wambacq but for the championship, places changed due to current leader No 94 Geoff Mills (Harrison Ducati) suffering four DNF’s. No 100 Andy Hunt (Ducati Steelcraft) is now the leader by ten points from No 97 Rob Butler (Ducati Daytona), Geoff now 37 points in arrears.

BSSO scooter geared machine championship gave way to some excellent riding by our Italian guest No 111 Mattia Pacini with two first and two second places. No 112 Micol Pacini was slower getting into the Lydden Circuit but eventually made a second spot on the Sunday. In the Elbows Uffindell Memorial Trophy race Mattia and No 2 Damon Tunncliffe fought hard at the front continually changing place but unfortunately they had a coming together on the last lap causing Damon to fall. At the Trophy Presentation Mattia handed the Trophy over to Damon.

For the Zip Scooters (twist and go type) the races were dominated by No 52 John Woods winning all four races from No 16 Scott Chapman and No 22 Alex Vandyke.

351 to 500cc pre 1963 solo Footman James Championship with four wins, saw current championship leader No 239 Mike Bevan (Norton Dommey) increase his lead over Norton Manx riders No 59 Jack Hebb and No 18 Paul Matravers.

In the 351 to 500cc 1963 to 1972 solo Bob Newby Championship No 33 Mike Powell close the gap to ten points between him and leader No 74 Dave Matravers, both Seeley G50 mounted.

The sidecar based three wheelers up to 750cc to 1972 saw No 61 Denis Whitehouse/Ben Weston (Triumph NWS) win all four races to move him 60 points nearer to missing from the meeting, current championship leader Phil Holt/Jeff Gamble., the difference now thirty points.

Pre 1963 Palletforce 251 to 350cc solo Championship with four wins gave championship leader No 195 Graham Buller (Norton M40) an increase in his lead of 18 points from No 18 Paul Matravers and No 59 Jack Hebb both Norton Manx mounted.

Tuers Garage pre 1949 unlimited solo championship was dominated by current leader No 47 Mervyn Stratford (Rudge) to increase his lead by 100 points over second place No 207 Tony Perkin (Rudge).

The Lacey Ducati Championship for single cylinder Ducati’s up to 500cc to 1976 saw No 100 Andy Hunt increase his lead by 9 points from No 253 Scott Harris.

The BSA Formula Bantam Championship with equal wins and second place saw championship leaders No 33 Mike Powell and No 51 Michael Brown staying status quo gaining 54 points each.

The Classic Racer Magazine BEARS solo F1 over 750cc championship was dominated over the weekend by No 55 Ben Kingham (BMW K100RS) to close the gap between himself and No 257 Richard Stubbs by 30 points down to 64 points. There are still a maximum of 120 points to race for. In the F2 of 501 to 750cc championship No 239 Bobby Bevan(Norton Commando) increased his championship lead by 80 points. Current second spot No 99 Richard Hawkins was absent from the meeting allowing No 213 Gary Porter (BSA Rocket 3) who had four wins to move into second spot.

The Penguin Speed Shop Championship for B3 Cyclecars, Sidecar based three wheelers and Morgans unlimited to 1972 saw non-eligible BMW outfit of Drew Thompson/Dave Dean do battle with No 34 Bill/Maggie Tuer’s Morgan Racer who took all the main championship points. Bill won 60 points to increase his championship lead over No 80 Stephen Mann/Philip Wade, twin 500cc engine, Triumph outfit by 40 points.

In the Watsonian Squire Championship for sidecar outfits up to 1958 current championship leader No 29 Adam Pope/John Christopher (Triumph Thunderbird) are now 38 points ahead of No 12 Mark and Sue Whittaker(BSA Road Rocket) by taking 3 wins and a second place.

The BSA Bantams held two trophy races, the Fred Lauchbury Trophy for air cooled Bantams and the Shuttleworth Challenge Trophy for Formula Bantams, the former was won by No 51 Michael Brown and the latter by No 33 Mike Powell.

The Bonhams Auctioneers Championship for VMCC members aged over 50 years was won by No 253 Scott Harris (Norton Kirby) increasing his lead in the championship table.