Endurance Championship for classic bikes

The Endurance Championship for classic bikes is a fact!

The Endurance Championship for classic bikes is a factThanks to the support of the UEM/FIM Europe, DG Sport, organiser of the Bikers’Classics in Francorchamps and the 200 Miglia di Imola Revival, creates a new championship: the European Classic Series. This endurance championship will be exclusively for classic bikes and will consist out of three rounds in 2013.

For many years now, Christian Jupsin and his team have integrated 4 Hours races for bikes built before 1980 in their events in Imola and Spa-Francorchamps. Both existing races will be included in this championship. The idea has always had a lot of success with the participants, famous or not, as well as with the spectators. From there to having a real championship was another step, and that step has finally been taken today.

This year, on top of the Belgian and Italian events, a third round will complete the package, a round on the Spanish track Aragon, at the occasion of the Motorland Classic Festival.

There will be four categories in this championship, counting for the Endurance Vintage UEM Cup: Maxi Classic for motorcycles built before 1982; Classic 1000 pre ’81 for machines with a displacement of 1000cc; 750 (also pre ’81) and 750 TT (till end 85).

The teams will consist at choice out of two or three riders, all holders of a recognised national license, but these teams can never gather only renowned riders with known lists of victories. These riders will mandatorily have to share a seat with amateur participants or gentlemen riders.

As the start grids of these races, which always takes place in the typical Le Mans style, are always well filled, we can assume that this new championship will be equally successful. Especially as the teams who will participate at all three races will have a nice reduction on their participation fee.

The rules and regulations, subscription forms and all complementary information are available on the website www.europeanclassicseries.eu.

The calendar;

20th April: Imola
6th July: Spa-Francorchamps
26th October: Aragon